Headed Home…

Standard

I am headed home in another week and half and as I try to check all the touristy stuff of my list I am trying to start being really reflective about the past 5 months and what being in London has meant.

1. For starters I guess the idea that everything happens for a reason is even stronger. two weeks after getting here, I was able to mourn with family over the loss of our loved ones. That truly means boatloads. I had originally been looking at spending this semester in France, oh how happy I am that that did not pan out.

It’s also been refreshing in many ways to study abroad but live with family. Last week, I met up with a colleague from college and she asked me if I had many any friends since I’d been here. Of course I was frank and said no. But, truth be told, I don’t rightly care. I’m not a junior in college trying to break out for a semester of clubbing and such with other under 21-year-olds. I’m at a different place in life and am happy to go to school and come home.

2. I have found it interesting and frustrating to follow U.S. politics here, but this is my second time as an American in Europe in a national election year, and think/hope this experiences have helped me understand the way others, family included just don’t get it….lol… how they conceptualize the American thing. To top it off, its crazy how I can recognize so many of the political pundits.

3. I’ve learned how to deal with people more this year. That room mates won’t always be neat/tidy/give a damn about tidiness. sharing blood or knowing each other for years doesn’t mean that you will be automatically understood.

there are other things, but they need to be processed more

Leave a Reply

