Classic Reading

Standard

I need to read a book.  For once in a looong time, I have the chance to read a book that I want to read.

Not some treatise on the state of Shiism or analysis of why the French don’t like headscarves or historical charting of regional identity in Spain. (which I like and find interesting, but isn’t what I want to read 24-7).

listening to npr’s in character piece on Jo from Little Women makes me realize how much I used to love reading or rather how I used to make time to read material for myself.  (I hated the movie btw, it condensed too much stuff, the book really is more suitable for a miniseries… but I digress) It’s not that I didn’t get some done here and there, but I feel like I started college talking out a book of my own along with the stacks of class readings, but along the way I got caught in the whole

There are few contemporary writers that I enjoy/have actually read so I should probably get on that.  But, I think I want to read one of the “classics.”

hmmm so what should I get on next?

Maybe Sense and Sensibility.  I love Jane Austin, well I loved Emma and Pride And Prejudice (persuasion, no offense was crap imho).

or maybe I should go more contemporary and read something by Leila AbouLeila.  I really liked minaret and some other short stories of hers that I’ve read as well.  Maybe “the Translator” would be a good fit?

eh, who am I kidding, maybe I should watch some shows tv shows online and think about recouping my brain cells at the end of the summer…lol.

One thought on “Classic Reading

  1. KG

    “Sense and Sensibility” is pretty good. I liked “P&P” and “Emma” better. One author I discovered last year is Elizabeth Gaskell. She’s a contemporary of Dickens. I’ve read “North and South” (and there’s a really good BBC adaptation of it too, in case you’d rather vege out in front of the television). She also wrote a book called “Wives and Daughters,” which I haven’t gotten to yet (there’s a BBC version of that too).

    These aren’t actually classics, but they involve classic novels: the Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde. The first one is “The Eyre Affair.” It’s set in an alternate reality where it’s possible to travel into books, and someone is trying to kidnap Jane Eyre and change the novel. It’s one of the most creative series I’ve read in a long time.

    Whatever you decide to read, you’d better get to it before you start your Arabic immersion!

Leave a Reply

