You’re too Qualified to work here

Standard

ok, I’ve heard of stuff like this but I can’t believe it’s actually happened to me.

In the action packed two weeks between returning from the U.K. and starting my Arabic program I went on the dreaded job interviews: The suit, the figuring out where everything is, getting their mad early, trecking through the D.C. area heat and humidity just to make a good freaking impression… did I mention that my wonderful press and curl from PHD (if you are black, in the U.K. and in need of some tlc for your hair, PHD is THE place to go, I don’t what I am going to do without them 😦

… Anyway in the course of my interviews I hear the refrain, “why does someone as educated as you want to work here?”  or “We don’t usually get people as educated as you”  or some  other form of it.  And the story ends with the rejection letter.

I am mad.  Well, not mad, but confused at how someone gets turned down because their too educated or qualified.  I have good reasoning, or so I thought.

oh well, maybe it was for some other reason… but asserting that it’s because I was too good for them makes me feel better…lol 😉

2 thoughts on “You’re too Qualified to work here

  1. KG

    A lot of times if you are considered “over-qualified” or “over-educated” for a position, the reasoning goes that you a) may be bored or unhappy with the position or b) use the position as a stepping-stone between jobs (or going back to school). In the former case, they may not hire you because they want their workers be happy and have positive attitudes. In the latter case, they may want to hire a more permanent worker, instead of hiring and training the person only to have to do it all over again in a year or so.

    I’m sure you’ve heard that before; maybe even from potential employers. Anyway, I’m sorry it happened to you.

  2. gazelledusahara

    yeah, I am taking it in stride. The job that is meant to be will be.

    I know that God has something suitably awesome in store for me 🙂
    so no bigs.

Leave a Reply

