I am back…. well, almost

Standard

So the ARabic program is over and the real world awaits… ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So much catch up with ….

Right now, I am still trying to make sense of this experience.  Was it worth it to spend  2 months studying Arabic in the states? eh.

Would I do it again?  I think so, but not with a huge amount of enthusiasm.

It wasn’t as bad as my study abroad experience in Morocco, it wasn’t as short as “color ful” a dining experience as it was in Yemen (although the food service workers did get hairs in the pasta from time to time 😦

BUt it wasn’t oober great either.

Maybe I am a pessimist, or maybe I have heard to so much about this program before coming that I didn’t want to believe that the gaping holes within it exist.  But they do.

On one hand, I speak Arabic.  (woo hooo I can finally say that 🙂 and I speak it quickly (even told someone off in Arabic this summer… woo hoo) There’s a certain comfortability with the language that I never had before.

On the other hand, I am wondering if this came because the program was so great (instructors in particular), or because of its Middleburyesque language pledge.

I actually have favorite Arabic songs and even news sources.

on the Other I still have so many gaps in my comprehension, or rather I don’t feel like I improved much. and not because I didn’t work hard, but because the program doesn’t really focus on developing other areas. oh well.

Maybe another factor is was the “group” culture of the program, which I am sooo not into.

oh well.

Leave a Reply

