on K’Naan

Standard

I love his new album!    …  I have not kept track of music trends nowadays… mostly listening to random (what I consider to be) classics.

His has one song in particular this is in English and Somali,  I was actually surprised that I could pick out words (though not general meaning).   Sigh, I need to get back on the Somali train, then again Spanish and Arabic are feeling neglected these days too.

I love albums that I can play and have in the background while I work and this is definitely one of those.  There are of course songs that I enjoy more than others, but I don’t think I skip any of them (well not yet anyway…lol).

I feel like I can relate to so much of what he talks about, maybe because of Sierra Leone’s war, and certainly because of the immigrant experience, I find myself laughing at songs like 15 minutes away, which is about making wire transfers  the chorus is “You can pick it up today, it’s 15 minutes away”

or ABCs which talks about the harsh reality of life in a war torn county ( I love the beat… times like this I wish I was still on a dance team so I could choreograph something to it, it has this throwback to the 1990s feel to it… oh well… those days are gone).

Then there is the song Fatima, which is about, well the harsh realities of a war torn country again… oh yes, I think his voice sounds awesome in the song Fire in Freetown… which is not really about Salone oh well, he has some Somali words in it.

Oh yes and waving flag, which is inspirationalish without being cheesy ( I hate cheesiness)

Yay Africa!   Yay Muslims!  Yay Somalia!

5 thoughts on “on K’Naan

  1. Hey salaam,

    No idea why there is a ceremony 40 days after someone’s passing. But you’re right it’s done by most religions. I’m sure if I ask around, my aunts will say ‘we found our parents doing it, there’s no explanation’, lol.

    I haven’t listened to this guy’s music. Actually I’m so far behind in African music…I’ll catch up someday…maybe.

    Take care, wasalaam.

  2. gazelledusahara

    lol… don’t worry about catching up. I basically stick to old faithfuls I learned about in college, no idea who the new, good people are out there.

    Yeah, I think my mom just gives me her rationalization of the topic, because I doubt there has been any real explanation handed down from generation to generation.

  3. Salaam alaykum

    Thanks for the comment on the slumdog milli post. I agree with most of what you’ve said except that Salim was NOT my favourite character…maybe young Jamal. You’re right abt the movie being directed by a non-Indian, as a result, he was blissfully unware of some religious implications. I haven’t read the book, actually I’m kind of against movies that come out of books b/c then I sit and start shouting during the emovie ‘THIS DIDN”T HAPPEN IN THE BOOK”. I was very disapointed by The Last King of Scotland b/c the book was so much better.

    In any case, it’s sad that interfaith marriages for the most part leads to chaos. Some of my cousins or aunts’ reaction when something Islamic is mentioned really annoys me but eh, you have to let go. They even tried to convert my mum to Christianity on her death bed!!!! She told me, they came and asked me to accept Jesus (as). My mum replied something like, I already accept him, I can’t do more, lol.

    I wouldn’t marry a non-Muslim for several reasons, like you mentioned I want my kids to grow up in the Islamic faith. Plus, my family would be SO against…ever since I’ve been 13-15 my dad has told how as a Muslim woman I had to marry a Muslim man. Most of my female cousins don’t feel that way at all and I can sense that there will be some major uproar in the family when it’s time for them all to get married. Sigh.

  4. gazelledusahara

    no not a problem at all, I appreciate the link. I had heard of her before, but not of her book. Jazaks.

    lol… I totally am one of those “didn’t happen in the book complainers” … oh well, can’t have it all.

    And the same goes for potential mates. I think the grits are going to hit the fans in everyone’s family at some point, but God knows best, your family might surprise you. They already have a sense for who you are by now. sigh.

Leave a Reply

