Exciting Happenings….Well, somewhat

Standard

Ok so It’s been a month since I’ve been here and I can the one activity that I do the most is eat.  Sooo sad… when we go out, it’s usually for lunch or dinner somewhere, there isn’t much else to do.  I am visiting the local landmarks slowly, seeing as how I have 9 months and don’t want to get bored with everything too fast.

So far I have only been to Souq Waqif which is a government-built- manufactured version of the traditional open air market.  It’s hilarious because the place in air-conditioned, offers a bunch of random objects from abayas to cheap trinkets.   But I will be going to the Islamic history Museum either this week or the next.

Next week, or this week rather is a Halloween party, I’m not much of a Halloween person back home, but  I am looking forward to being in an American setting where the lines between male and female, appropriate and inappropriate are not so darn wide. A friend and I are going as a Qatar woman and her maid (oh that needs a post all by itself the indentured servitude/slavery that they have going on here, makes me sick to my stomach 😦   I hope we can pull it off.

oh, oh. I’m going to a tennis match!  Hopefull one with either Venus or Serena Willaims, something I probably wouldn’t do at home.  I do hope its fun/I get some decent celebrity pictures out of it.

Oh, how exciting life is!..not!…lol…

One thought on “Exciting Happenings….Well, somewhat

  1. KG

    Can you post pictures? I’d love to see some of what you’re seeing in Qatar and I’d be really interested in seeing your Halloween costumes! (Interesting choice. Are you going to be the woman or the maid?)

    My friends and I found a cheerleader’s outfit in a vintage clothing store, so that’s what I’m going to be this year. Certainly different from my past choices in costumes! But it’s much less work than what I was originally planning. Can you imagine, me, a cheerleader? (My high school didn’t even have cheerleaders.) But I guess that’s part of the point of dressing up for Halloween, right? The opportunity to try out a different persona.

    Have fun at the tennis match!

Leave a Reply

