More pre-Syria Tidbits

Standard

So I had lunch with my Syrian-dialect instructor this weekend.  She’s an absolute sweetheart and actually only 1 week older than I am!.

at any rate, as she alluded to earlier, black people are a rarity in Damascus so people will stop, stare and make comments.  The main one she says will be “bathinjan Ma-layee”  which means Fried egg-plant (apparently fried eggplant has a blackish/brownish hue?—- I don’t eat egg plant so I wouldn’t know).

Random indeed, but good to know.  Now I can come up to witty responses …lol…

The Road to Damascus is getting more interesting each day.

I am happy that I won’t have to adjust my style of dress like I did for Qatar, as a matter of fact, I think I still pretty much dress the way I did in Qatar, it’s like I haven’t readjusted yet… perhaps I never will.

The difference isn’t that stark anyway.

apparently when it comes to parties, there’s more leg-room tube and halter tops, I’ll take a few of my shorter party dresses just in case, at least I can dream of using them in Syria.hmmm…

Although I guess I could have in Qatar… if I had an abaya to wear in the taxi and then took it all off at said party destination, then again my understanding is that Qatari women still tend to wear long dresses at parties (even though they are gender segregated).

I’ll see how I fare in light of street harassment being pretty common in Damascus.

Oh well.

Here’s to getting my head in the “Syria” zone!

2 thoughts on “More pre-Syria Tidbits

  1. I can’t wait for you to go to Damascus. That has always been a city I wanted to visit ^^

    I think I’ve said it elsewhere online but I have no problem with people staring at me when I travel to places that have a few black people. Did your instructor also warn/advice you about guys hitting on you because of the colour of your skin?

  2. gazelledusahara

    She actually did not, street harrassment is just one of those things you have to expect in a quite a few places, and Damascus is no exception. she told me that some guys could be really blunt but I doubt being black is going give me cache…

    I wish I had your attitude towards staring… it bothers the heck out of me! However, innoccent I would much prefer people just come up and ask me questions nicely… there’s something ambiguous about a stare. I really should have shaken it off by now.

    If you end up on the road to Damascus while I’m there, hit me up 🙂

Leave a Reply

