On Going to the Arab World in the Midst of Turmoil

Standard

Unless you’ve been under a boulder, then you know that Egypt is on fire.

The Protests that erupted in Tunisia have left many citizens of Arab states inpspired to stand up for their rights and say NO! to demagoguery, oppression, police  and  effectual one-party stateism. No to presidents who serve for life.  And No more to keeping silent.

I don’t know what to say right now besides wow!

Anyone who reads this blog will know that I have been to Arab world several times, and never ever have I felt unsafe.  Yes, there were the never-ending protests in Rabat, the Moroccan political capital, usually because of the ridiculous unemployment rate.  And there was the time that a bomb went off in the marketplace in Sanaa (Alhamdullilah, I was not there).  And as for Qatar, well I felt safer there than I do in my hometown… lol…

But this is serious… I’m not afraid of going to Syria in the next few months, I think conditions in Egypt were bound to reach a boiling point for at least the past several months… (then again, who saw Tunisian rebellion coming?).

When I read a week or so ago that Lebanon’s government was dissolved, I thought— uh oh, we cannot have countries bordering Syria in a hot darn mess…  I just don’t know what I would do.  I do not want to be holed up in my apartment hoping no one  throws a fire bomb into it.  I don’t want to have to be evacuated by the US embassy of X marks the spot. Sigh.  Yes, just like me to be thinking of myself.

Funnily enough, I just might have been in Egypt instead of still at home getting ready to go to Damascus, I briefly flirted with the idea before deciding against it.

I think this is what makes the situation so real.  Well, that and the fact that I know people who are there right now, and never would have thought that they would be in danger a year ago…  time changes everything.

I’m praying for those students of religion and Arabic that have now found themselves in an unstable situation.  I’m praying for all those frustrated Egyptians and for a peaceful resolution.

Leave a Reply

