On Christian Egypt: RIP Pope Shnouda

Standard

RIP ya Baba Shnouda

Baba Shnouda or Pope Shnouda, the head of the Coptic Orthodox Church died today… he was 88 years old and in failing health… but it was still a surprise.

He played an important role in fortifying the Coptic Church during some trying times as well as had been pretty active in encouraging cross-sectarian dialogue among different Christian groups.  I know I said I wanted to post about Christian Egypt, I guess quite a few more will follow.

Baba Shnouda’s death to me, feel like Pope John Paul’s death in 2005 I was in Morocco at the time, and although I am not Catholic, he was the only leader of the Catholic Church that I had grown up with.  It was sad.  Similarly as I have bee looking at Egypt and Copts Papa Shnouda figured into my image of the Coptic Church in particular.

I am wondering how long it will take to pick the new Pope, and how all this fits into lent season.  Wow, what a time to be in Egypt indeed. Absolutely everything is in transition.

May his soul rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

