In Egypt the Revolution was televised…

Standard

So Mursi is out and the Army is in?

Many (most) of the Egyptians I know are happy with what happened, and I am resigned to the fact that Gazelle has no control over anything.   Hoping for the best, I guess.  After all, my Coptic friends seem to be relieved that the pending encroachment of political Islam on their lives has been stemmed.  As for most of the Muslims that I know, they didn’t vote for Morsi anyway and have been dissatisfied with his leadership style from the get-go.

Many are hopeful that the army’s takeover means implementation of the real transitional plan that the January 25th Revolution was supposed to achieve.

This is all anecdotal of course… but then again, so is much of what is being said IMO anyway…

Viva la Revolucion?

yes, what perhaps is more interesting to me is the plethora of pundits, intellectual bandits and news media people who all have something to say. Much of it is the same thing over and over.  Some of it is randomness.

Let’s face it, Egypt is the story of the hour.  A few weeks ago, it was the Tsarnaev brothers, week before last I guess it was the birth of North West….

No doubt this new chapter in Egypt is going to have long-term implications for foreign and perhaps even economic policy.  But, I wonder what good much of the different commentaries I have skimmed through and heard over the last 48 hours, will be to anyone?

How much of it is just blasting hot air?  How much of is just random people at think tanks who just want to be the ones who called “it” what ever “it” is, first?

I’m not going to point any fingers.  Anyone can Google Egypt right about now and find a plethora of random, organized and not-so-organized thoughts.

Besides, this is not what this post is about.

I fear MB reprisals, news of their tv stations being closed and their leaders being arrested is everywhere.  I also have a friend whose family member, she says was gunned down for being Ikhwani (Muslim brotherhood).

This divide is unsettling. I don’t know if MB leaning people are over reacting or if people who wanted Morsi out simply don’t care about what happens to the MB.  (A big mistake and pretty darn undemocratic IMO)

The Egyptian Experience continues to be the gift that keeps on giving.  In general my attitude towards politics is that

أنا ماليش دعوة بالسياسة

But something tells me that I will be following the ramifications of the newest chapter in the Egyptian Revolution, if only through my Facebook Contacts.

Something tells me the fight isn’t over

This Revolution even had me re-open my personal Twitter account (the password for which I never remember).  The last tweet I had was a reference to my then confusion as to which country I would be spending the second year of my Masters program in. (circa June 2011, to give you and idea of how long it’s been).

While there I stumbled upon this gem of a quote that someone else had tweeted:

This is not a coup d’état; it is a peaceful revolution.” -Colonel J.D. Mobutu, Sept 5, 1960.

Of course, I don’t think Mobutu came in with the kind of popular support that the army has come in with.  Plus, at least technically the army is not the head of state, the interim president is. In many ways this quote is like many others, being thrown out there about Egypt, despite the unique nature of the Egyptian context.

On the other hand, it would be kind of scary to see it ring true. I’m praying Egypt doesn’t rue the day that Mohammed Morsi was kicked out of the presidency.

 

2 thoughts on “In Egypt the Revolution was televised…

  1. Hello! I really appreciate what you’ve written on the situation in Egypt, it brings some clarity considering how there seems to be so much talk about it in the media but as you’ve said it is pretty much the same thing over and over with a bit of randomness included.

    Wrt that quote attributed to Mobutu and the fact that in Egypt the army is not the head of state but the interim president is…it reminds me of this post by Charles Onyango-Obbo where he mentions that the uprisings in modern-day African countries have changed in that the military includes (or at least works with) the civilian. I’m not sure I’ve summarised or explained it properly here, but the post is worth a read.

Leave a Reply

