Rabna Kareem!— How every stage of my life is a Garth Brooks song…

Standard

The translation of my post title, is “God is generous.” But the translation doesn’t even begin to encapsulate everything this phrase makes me feel.

It’s been my mantra for the past few months, a means of reminding myself about being thankful for what I have, strengthening my faith and not taking things so seriously when they don’t go my way.  I’ve probably annoyed some people with this constant remembrance, but oh well: Alhamdullilah… Rabna Kareem!

July was a crazy month for me.  I began it with optimistic expectations about… a lot of things.  What kinds of things? that will be for a later post, needless to say I was disappointed, or so I thought…

But, by the end of July, I literally think I began to believe in miracles again!

Alhamdullilah! I was at a point where I felt like this:

It hurt… a lot…

And then I realized that much of my anguish, although real, had to do with my perspective on life… there was no defining moment, no flash of light.  I did somehow end up in, fake it, till you make it mode.  And then my attention was caught up in other things.

 

In the end, I was able to help someone out of a really tight spot, largely because someone helped facilitate the process (and if you ever read this, you know who you are, thank you! ….)

And then…  I heard some really good news at the end.  So July was one of those months, where a lot happened, but they were slow developments, realizations and revelations. I am still thinking about life, the last year in particular, and how it’s been so vastly different from what I envisioned. Nonetheless,

I am thanking God for unanswered prayers like the Garth Brooks song:

“…Sometimes I thank God for unanswered prayers
Remember when you’re talkin’ to the man upstairs
That just because he doesn’t answer doesn’t mean he don’t care
Some of God’s greatest gifts are unanswered prayers…”

 

But, I’m also thanking God for some answered ones. Sometimes, things feel/are difficult, but we learn and mature from the experience.  And so, I kind of feel like the dance, another Garth Brooks song:

“…And now I’m glad I didn’t know
The way it all would end the way it all would go
Our lives are better left to chance I could have missed the pain
But I’d of had to miss the dance…”

I’ve also let go of some things and people this past month, a difficult process.  However, I keep telling myself that if your only reason for holding onto something or someone is that it/they have been  around you for a long time, you may need to reevaluate that relationship/dependency… seriously…

So yes, I’ve learned quite a bit this past month, mainly that, “Life is not tried, it is merely survived If you’re standing outside the fire “… yup, yet another one from the great Garth Brooks…

Sometimes we don’t jump into the fire, it just happens to be all about us…. but yes, Rabna Kareem!

And now, for the next milestone: My cousin’s first Eid al-fitr without my uncle/her  father…

And this fine gentleman, probably has a song about that too!

Leave a Reply

