On My Real Unemployment Chronicle 1- Lessons Learned

Standard

Well some of the stuff in the previous post is actually spot-on… I have been unemployed via a paid internship for the past 8 months.

It has been demoralizing… for a lot of reasons. But the greatest lesson I learned was this:

1. The person that gets the job is more than likely not necessarily the most qualified I have seen this with my own two eyes enough this time around to know that personal interactions play a really big role in hiring decisions, perhaps in some cases more than they should.  In general networking according to all the job websites is the way to go. But Gazelle took the itakil-li-lah (rely on God) approach, I sent tons of cold applications.  As a result, most of the interviews I got were from those sending in a resume to an organization that I had no human connection to.  Heck, that’s how I got my internship in the first place.

One fine day, still in a bit of a pneumonia haze, I submitted my resume and took a nap.  I woke up about two hours later to find and offer for an interview. The rest is history.  It wasn’t till later that I realized how rigorous (and in IMHO preposterously so) the process to even hire an intern is.

This leads me to the next big lesson: The job you land will likely be the one that you don’t expect.

Yup, this road always seems to end up in jobville!

In the end I was an intern for much longer than I had expected: Interview after interview lead me to dead end after dead end. As I alluded to earlier, I was couldn’t even get promoted internally: I was passed up for a person who who at face-value (trying to give them the benefit of the doubt, maybe there is something magical about this person, that myself and many of the others who had a wtf moment can not see…ha ha…) was not better suited than myself and a number of other applicants (the person is nice though, and that’s gotta count for something, right?).

I pretty much said this to the person who got the job… (but in my head of course… ha ha)

In situations like those though, you just have to laugh at the absurdity of the situation.  I think this job search and that non-granted promotion made me realize is that I have to think about the organizations I am applying to work for and make sure that what they do/believe in and how they operate is in line with my own thinking.

I had a good long look in the mirror and realized that this place that I interned for is not the place for me in the long-term.  I had known it from the start, and had been searching for an exit route, but had planned to keep one eye open for suitable opportunities to move up.  Not anymore.

I know where some of these “less qualified candidates” could have come out as number 1…. ha ha

For me this lesson isn’t really about being bitter, like I wrote above, I was a little peeved, extremely confused, but in the end I just laughed at the absurdity of it, and decided that this was not the game that I was equipped to play.  I cut my losses for the most part and focused my energies elsewhere. (I didn’t understand the rules, man, the rules…ha ha)

So happy that that other job was exactly what Beyonce said…

Leave a Reply

