My Real Unemployment Chronicle #3: You see my glory, but you don’t know my story

Standard

Alhamdulilah!

I have a real job now. I have an awesome job that is a great fit with me, my personality, my skillset and what I like to do.

But as the barrage of blog posts before this one show, it was not a walk in the park.  But as I say, Rabna Kareem!

Even at this organization, I applied for positions and was turned down, some invited for an interview, some not.  The straw that broke the camel’s back was when I was encouraged to apply out of the blue for a position that I didn’t even know existed.  Surely, I thought, I would be granted an interview since someone reached out to me about this posting. I was wrong.

yes, I do little kitty, yes I do…

And like so many other networkingish positions before, they didn’t even give me a heads up until I emailed to ask about the status of my application.

In the wake of my disappointment about yet another let-down (one that I totally didn’t see coming in such a blatant fashion), I saw the posting for the position I have now.  Dejected and demoralized, I figured I wouldn’t even get an interview, but I would go ahead and apply anyway to “stick it to the system.”

Yes, and somehow I thought revenge would be to turn in an application that I was sure they would not consider?…. wt heck?…. I am just grateful that it was part of a larger plan… Rabna Kareem 🙂

Well, things don’t work out the way we plan, but in my case, that’s ok!

I am gainfully employed, and InshAllah, will continue to be so.  What’s better yet, this girl is dusting off her suitcases and headed to…. undisclosed Arab country!….ha ha…. I have been saying Alhamdulilah!  for a while now, because it’s the only phrase that encapsulates how  I feel.

Some people don’t know how hard this journey has been, some due.  But I know that some will look at my paid internship and look at my job now and think, “wow, she has it in the bag.”

Actually the picture is far more complicated than that.  I don’t owe it to hard work, dedication or any of that stuff that some people like to talk about. All thanks is due to my Lord!’

Free at last! Free at last!  Thank God almighty I am free at last!

And to those of you still in the job search trenches… keep your heads up! Rabna Kareem!

Leave a Reply

