I’m Crying not Because it Happened, I am Smiling Because it’s Over….

Standard

I’m Crying not Because it Happened, I am Smiling Because it’s Over….

I am 11 days too late,  but forgive me, I have been busy.  It’s been a year, a year since I nearly spiraled into true craziness thanks to the all encompassing job search.  A little over a year since I got this gem of a message after applying for a job that the rejecters reached out to me to apply for:

“Dear applicant,

We would like to thank you for your interest in the [redacted] position with [redacted]. We received many applications and you have not been selected for an interview. For future opportunities, please feel free to check our website: 

We wish you the best in your future endeavors.

Regards,”

 

personally reach out to me to apply for a job and then reject me before I even get a chance to graduate?… yes, shame on you!

 

 

And maybe I should not have, but  I took it personal.  It felt like the biggest slap in the face. Compounded with the fact that I was beginning to absolutely hate my then job, I was at what I thought was my wit’s end.  But Alhamdullilah!

It took a while, but that rejection letter was one of the best things that every happened to me! It motivated me in ways you wouldn’t believe. A few weeks after receiving this rejection, I submitted the application for the job I now have.

So yeah, I don’t have it all figured out.  But sometimes I have to look at things like this that happen to me in life and say thank God.  Sometimes painful things happen so we can grow, and sometimes things we don’t like happen to us for a reason.  This is not an isolated incident: I’ve got a barrel of incidents like these that have happened in my life.

Yup, that’s da TRUTH!

I’ve also got some rejections (personal , professional etc.) that I still haven’t made sense of.  Go figure.  At any rate, today, I am not crying because it happened, I laugh because it’s over.

If this is how I make sense of life for now or forever, well it is what it is.

Leave a Reply

