What am I Doing Here?

Standard

Needless to say it’s been a long time…

I am currently back in the States and just in time for Thanksgiving, which was a very unexpected blessing.  I totally thought my Thanksgiving 2014 would be surrounded by friends and acquaintances, but I am fortunate enough to spend it with family.

This blog has been getting no love as of late, ever since I moved… ha ha… It’s not that there is nothing to write about, it’s not that there isn’t time.  It’s just that I’m not making the time anymore. Besides, there are far more poignant commentaries out there on Ferguson, Bill Cosby rape allegations, Iggy Azalea, ISIS and the state of the world in general.

In real life, I’ve talked about many of these topics till I’m red in the face (which is saying a lot because  I am rather swarthy). America, life is complicated. I recognize that fact and am bracing for the full-circle realization that that’s just how things roll.

Ok, now this post is sounding super cryptic.  But suffice to say, I feel like I’m on the precipice of major life shifts yet again.  I would rather not talk/write about them till the dust settles and all that is or is not happening makes sense to me.

I turned 30 and although I did not mention it here, it was with much fanfare… Wanting to be 30 in a space that was more “exotic” and uncharted for me, I visited a friend in Cyprus…. it was inspiring and humbling to be in a space that was so unfamiliar to me yet, rich with it’s own idiosyncrasies and histories…. Kind of like when I went to Italy in January (well almost, I still think Florence was the more enthralling of the two trips).

About a month ago, I was on a plan again, this time headed for Shanghai. It has been a while since I’ve been in a country where I spoke zero of the language, no one looked like me and no one spoke English.  It was a throw back to my first time in Morocco, only worse.  But I persevered.  Shanghai is an amazing city and I feel fortunate to have experienced it.  I would never want to live there, but it’s an awesome place for architecture and cuisine no doubt.

And now, after a bit of touring in the US (the midwest and west coast) I am back home: munching on the snacks and other foods of my childhood that the Arab World just doesn’t have and thinking, plotting and reflecting on the past year and my next steps.

I have learned a lot this past year, and am still growing: One is never too old to realize an important truth.

What am I doing here?  GAzelle has no idea.

Leave a Reply

