Unanswered prayers

Sometimes I thank God for unanswered prayers 
Remember when you’re talkin’ to the man upstairs 
That just because he doesn’t answer doesn’t mean he don’t care 
Some of God’s greatest gifts are unanswered prayers

            – Garth Brooks

 

I often think about this song. I have found that life makes no sense or rather situations make no sense until much time has passed.

 

Its only now that I am beginning to appreciate some of the experiences that  I had a year or two ago.  That I understand why I didn’t get x fellowship or Y job. Why it didn’t work out that boy or why that friend I thought would last forever had to be cut loose.  I am trying to be patient, I really am.

 

But these are the times that try men’s souls.  So much is changing around me, too much at one time it feels like.  Nothing is as solid as should be and nothing can be taken for granted.  Gazelle is in the eye of  a storm that’s touching too many facets of her life and identity and she’s hoping to make it through, to have a safe passage.

 

Its funny how an old country song can help keep me balanced.  At he end of the day God Knows best and I will have to trust that he knows best.  

Leave a comment